Jalapeño Cheddar Scones

Posted on July 11, 2011

0


I have a new love for scones ever since I tried the dreamy cream scones the other
morning. While those are still my favorite, other members of my family prefer
this recipe. My folks are spicy jalapeño fans. While I was up in Tennessee, my
Aunt Jil gave me a few of her jalapeños from her jalapeño plants. There is
nothing like fresh jalapeños. I halved this recipe but used 1 and a half
jalapeños instead of just one. The jalapeños and the cheddar cheese gave these
scones a wonderful flare and really hit the spot this morning when my taste buds
were looking for something a little bit different.

What you’ll need:
(if you half
the recipe, use more than 1 jalapeño to give it more of a kick)

2 cups
all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
8
tablespoons unsalted cold butter, diced
1/2 cup heavy cream
3 eggs,
divided
1/4 pound sharp Cheddar cheese, shredded
2 small jalapeños, minced


Preheat oven to 400F.

Mince jalapeños and add in
a hot skillet with 1/2 tablespoon of butter. Allow jalapeños to become soft,
about 2 minutes. Add them into a bowl with shredded cheese and one tablespoon of
flour. Add the rest of the flour, salt, and baking powder. Stir to
combine.

Using hands or a knife, break butter into pea sized pieces and
incorporate into the flour mixture and mix until it looks like course cornmeal.

In a seperate bowl, lightly whip the eggs and heavy cream. Slowly add to
flour mixture.

On a lightly floured surface, knead until a dough ball
forms. Pat down into a 3/4 inch thick circle and use a biscuit cutter to cut
into biscuits.

Place biscuits on a nonstick pan or baking sheet lined
with parchment paper. Whisk remaining egg and 1 teaspoon of water to make egg
wash. Coat the tops of the biscuits with egg wash and cook for 25 minutes, or
until tops are brown.

Posted in: Breakfast