Dutch Baby Pancakes

Posted on July 11, 2011

0


These were a lot
like my German
Pancakes
but a little less fluffy. I got the recipe from Martha
Stewart
and I found many other pancake recipes I
want to try very soon. I used to like a lot of syrup on my pancakes, waffles,
etc. but now I’ve found like I love them plain or with fruit. I also was a
little bit distracted from the snake in my
house
when this came out of the oven, so it had cooled off a little when I
finally got around to eating it. It was good cold, but I will definitely eat it
straight out of the oven next time like the recipe suggests.

Prep time: 5 min.
Cook time: 20 min. Yields 4 servings
Ingredients:
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature (I
    skipped this)
  • 3 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup whole milk (I used Almond Milk)
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour, (spooned and leveled)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice ( I skipped this too)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. In a medium cast-iron or
    ovenproof nonstick skillet, melt 2 tablespoons butter over medium heat; set
    aside.
  2. In a blender, combine eggs, milk, flour, salt, vanilla, and 1/4
    cup sugar. Blend until foamy, about 1 minute. Pour batter into skillet; bake
    until pancake is puffed and lightly browned, about 20 minutes.
  3. Working quickly, dot pancake with 1 tablespoon butter, and
    sprinkle with 1 tablespoon sugar and lemon juice. Slice into wedges, and serve
    immediately.
Posted in: Breakfast