Cucumber Avocado Salad

Posted on July 11, 2011

0


I had an avocado
going bad in the fridge and some fresh cucumber from Paul’s garden that I wanted
to make a salad from. The recipe was very simple and I found all of the
ingredients right in my fridge. I liked the lemon-lime salad dressing because it
didn’t come from a bottle with any added sugar like most bottled salad
dressings.
Okay, I have to
admit, I wasn’t in love with this recipe. I guess you have to really love
avocado and cucumbers to love this recipe, which Mom does. She probably could
have eaten the entire bowl of this stuff. I wish I had liked it more, and I will
definitely make it again and eat some, because I should like this more.
Did you know
avocado’s lower bad (LDL) cholesterol and raise good (HDL) cholesterol?
I didn’t until
yesterday. But this is just another reason to eat more avocados.
I have two more in
the fridge that I’ll need to eat soon anyway.

This recipe came
from Simple
Recipes
.

You could always skip the lemon and lime step and add your
own salad dressing.

Tangy
Cucumber and Avocado Salad
  • 2 medium cucumbers, cubed
  • 2 avocados, cubed
  • 4 tablespoons chopped fresh
    cilantro
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons minced green onions
    (optional)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • black pepper to taste
  • 1/4 large lemon
  • 1 lime
    Directions:
    In a large bowl, combine cucumbers, avocados,
    and cilantro.
    Stir in garlic, onions, salt, and pepper.
    Squeeze lemon and lime over the top, and toss.
    Cover, and refrigerate at least 30 minutes.
Posted in: Side Dishes